Female White-winged Crossbill

Here is the female White-winged Crossbill that was sitting on the other side of the birdbath, while her mate was enjoying some water from the other side. I get so focused through my view finder that I didn’t realize both of these birds were sitting there, but not together.  When I realized this the female flew off. She seems to be a real rainbow of colors, but I thought her quite colorful and somewhat bold like the male. I hope they do make another visit to our yard this year, but I know they are wanderers.

6 Comments

  1. Pauline Gore said,

    April 20, 2012 at 6:04 am

    I so envy your birds jo jo….I love mine, but maybe some day, I can get up there and sit in your yard..for 2 months…lol

  2. jkgphotos said,

    April 20, 2012 at 6:07 am

    Oh Pauline, nothing would give me greater pleasure than having you sit outside beside me with your camera and watching these birds come in the yard. I envy you, as you get to see the tropical birds pretty much year round. I think we are both lucky to have our backyards that we love.

  3. April 20, 2012 at 6:58 am

    The colors are beautiful, so delicate. I hope they do come back for you to get more to share!

  4. jkgphotos said,

    April 20, 2012 at 7:06 am

    I certainly hope so too. I absolutely love seeing new bird species come to visit.

  5. May 3, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    nice!


Leave a Reply

