A Long Journey…

Ruby-throated Hummingbird

This Ruby-throated Hummingbird looked plumb tuckered out when they arrived last Thursday. I had to laugh, but I seriously believed he/she was exhausted after their long trip North. These tiny birds give me so much pleasure all summer long.  Again, this year they will be competing with the Baltimore Orioles for nector. It doesn’t matter that I have a separate feeder for the orioles, they still prefer going to the hummingbird feeder. Welcome back you beautiful little birds!

9 Comments

  1. nimmychacko said,

    May 9, 2012 at 10:59 am

    Aw, that’s beautiful.

  2. Pauline Gore said,

    May 9, 2012 at 11:32 am

    Beautiful picture!!! I’ve seen them do the same thing here, and even after a rain storm, I’ve seen them go to a leaf where the water has collected and they take a bath. Cute little things. I always start looking for them here at the end of March.

    • jkgphotos said,

      May 9, 2012 at 2:57 pm

      Thanks Pauline….I really look forward to their annual visit each year.

  3. jdhascup said,

    May 9, 2012 at 11:54 am

    Nice shot and story

  4. May 9, 2012 at 4:54 pm

    amazing photo joleen! they are such cool birds.

    • jkgphotos said,

      May 9, 2012 at 5:43 pm

      Thanks Sheila, I’m so glad you enjoyed it. I love these little Hummers.

  5. May 14, 2012 at 9:42 am

    Another awesome unique capture, Joleen! I’ve never seen them do that. Yes, he does look exhausted, poor little hummer! But he’s home now! 🙂

    • jkgphotos said,

      May 14, 2012 at 4:16 pm

      Thanks Donna. It was a first for me too. I really believe he was tuckered out.


Leave a Reply

