Blue Velvet

Indigo Bunting

When posting this photo of an Indigo Bunting I had the song “Blue Velvet” running through my head. I have to say, he looks like he could feel like velvet and the blue on these birds are so rich and deep in color. While sitting out on the patio this morning, my husband and I enjoyed a male Indigo stop by at our bird feeder. I’m glad to see some of these birds still staying around despite the horribly dry and hot weather. Hope your enjoying the birds wherever your living.

5 Comments

  1. Pauline Gore said,

    July 17, 2012 at 7:09 am

    awww I miss mine jo jo, I hope they come back in the spring! Beautiful!

  2. jkgphotos said,

    July 17, 2012 at 7:12 am

    I thought of you when I posted, but my thoughts are they will come back to you this fall and winter….You’ll get to enjoy them again soon.

  3. July 17, 2012 at 7:37 pm

    Beautiful bird and great capture! He does look so soft and velvety.

  4. jkgphotos said,

    July 17, 2012 at 8:05 pm

    Thanks Donna. I simply can’t get over the beauty of these birds and their striking color. Glad you enjoyed it.

  5. talain45 said,

    December 23, 2012 at 11:00 am

    Beautiful image. It’s my favorite bird. I love to hear the way they sing and watch the brilliant flashes of blue as they fly; I also wait for their return in the spring. You captured his image nicely. Thank you for sharing.


Leave a Reply

