Buzzing all Around the Yard…

Ruby-throated Hummingbird

The Hummingbirds must be gearing up for their long flight South. They are buzzing all around our yard. My nectar feeder is being sucked down in about 3 days, but I sure hope these entertaining birds stay around awhile longer. They are so fun to watch and I DON’T want them to leave too soon. As much as I love this time of year, it also brings a little sadness that some of these birds will be leaving soon. Oh, the circle of life!

4 Comments

  1. Bill Lambert said,

    September 12, 2012 at 7:03 am

    Those little flying machines are in my backyard too. They move so fast I wonder how you manage to get pictures of them. I like that you were able to clearly catch the wings. At what speed do you set your camera?

  2. jkgphotos said,

    September 12, 2012 at 7:12 am

    Thanks Bill! I have my camera set to “automatic” and it’s on the “active” and “sports” setting. Bruce would be able to tell you as I know there is a way to see all that stuff on the camera, but I’m not sure where to look. Thank goodness for “automatic” for this gal.

  3. Judy said,

    September 12, 2012 at 5:23 pm

    Our hummingbirds are emptying our feeders that quickly also. The love to fight over the feeder. Loved your picture.

    • jkgphotos said,

      September 12, 2012 at 5:31 pm

      Thank you Judy…..They are pretty cool to watch right now, crazy little birds….like little helicopters.


Leave a Reply

