A Surprise! Where is my Scarlet Coloring

Fall Scarlet Tanager

I was so delighted when this bird landed at our backyard pond. At lst glance I thought “oh, a goldfinch”, but then taking a closer look I noticed this bird was quite a bit bigger and then my next thought was a female Scarlet Tanager, but still not sure. Funny that on this same day, I brought in my “Birds and Blooms”  issue from the mailbox and here on one of the pages was the same bird and they were asking for an identification. I was right, it was a Scarlet Tanager, but it was a male. When they molt their scarlet coloring they go into their winter yellow-green plumage.  Here I only saw this male tanager once this summer and now he’s been visiting daily to the pond. A true treat for me. Maybe next Spring I’ll get lucky and he’ll come back when he’s in his beautiful breeding color of scarlet and black.

2 Comments

  1. Northern Narratives said,

    September 13, 2012 at 10:07 am

    Interesting to know that the male changes color.

    • jkgphotos said,

      September 13, 2012 at 11:09 am

      It surely surprised me too. I just hope he comes back in the Spring. Thanks for stopping by 🙂


Leave a Reply

