How Cute am I?

House Wren

This post has been edited as I identified this little bird incorrectly thinking this was a House Wren when in fact I guess it is a Winter Wren somewhat uncommon in this area, but probably due to the migration he made a quick stop. Thank you Andy Paulios for the correction. I have to say, this little Winter Wren puts a huge smile on my face! Yesterday this little guy was having a blast in our pond and he was wonderful to pose for me. We had quite a time this summer watching our House Wrens fight off the House Sparrows bullying them at their birdhouse. I’m hoping the Wren found a place to lay her eggs in peace and quiet. One can only hope! We’re still in for beautiful weather for the next week so maybe I’ll have this little one come and visit again.

8 Comments

  1. September 28, 2012 at 7:56 am

    very cute! πŸ˜€

  2. jkgphotos said,

    September 28, 2012 at 8:00 am

    Thanks Shelia πŸ™‚

  3. September 30, 2012 at 9:26 am

    A real cutie indeed! πŸ™‚

  4. jkgphotos said,

    September 30, 2012 at 11:35 am

    Thanks Donna πŸ™‚

  5. June Jenkins said,

    September 30, 2012 at 12:23 pm

    Todays little Wren is adorable. I enjoy your pictures..Thank you for sharing.

    • jkgphotos said,

      September 30, 2012 at 12:40 pm

      June thank you so much. So glad you stopped by and hope you’ll visit again soon.

  6. Andy Paulios said,

    September 30, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    Joleen – this actually looks like a Winter Wren. This is a bit rarer migrant for your yard (and mine) in Madison area.

    • jkgphotos said,

      September 30, 2012 at 7:46 pm

      Hey Andy! I was thinking along those lines as well after looking at images of the Winter Wren, House Wren, and Carolina Wren. Well, regardless I enjoyed his visit. I’m still getting a few warblers going through and love whatever I can see this time of year. Thanks for stopping by!


Leave a Reply

