Hermit Thrush Comes to Visit..

Hermit Thrush

A few posts ago I showed the Wood Thrush and the Swainson’s Thrush. Now, the Hermit Thrush has decided to make an appearance in our yard. While sitting in my chair on the patio this handsome bird came and perched on a rock right in front of my chair and I was able to get a nice close-up of him. You can distinguish this bird from the other thrushes by his reddish tail which he’s known to drop and raise while perched and they have a whitish eye ring. Another pretty thrush in my opinion and always glad to see his visit.

6 Comments

  1. Alex Khoo said,

    October 8, 2012 at 7:29 am

    Wow! nice capture!

    • jkgphotos said,

      October 8, 2012 at 7:37 am

      Thanks so much Alex. I have to say, this thrush planted himself right in front of my chair so I lucked out. I had my 300mm lens on and I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to focus, but I was able to pull it off.

      • Alex Khoo said,

        October 8, 2012 at 7:38 am

        Oh wow nice! Hey besides 300mm you have, do you have a longer focal length lens? What is your thoughts on your 300mm? You love it ya?

  2. jkgphotos said,

    October 8, 2012 at 7:42 am

    Alex, I don’t have a longer lens anymore. I LOVE my 300mm lens. My husband had bought me a 500mm and it was just to heavy to handle and I felt it didn’t take clear photos. I would recommend the 300mm for sure.

  3. October 11, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    Excellent photo, Joleen!

    • jkgphotos said,

      October 11, 2012 at 9:51 pm

      Thanks Tracy! I love that he came so close so I could get a clear picture.


Leave a Reply

