Love the Colors!

Fall Northern Parula

I was happy to see that this Northern Parula came back on Sunday as well, but I sure hope he took off and went South that evening as we got down in the 20’s that night and only made it up to the low to mid 30’s during the day. This bird’s coloring is so pretty and it’s his fall plumage, but just look at how beautiful this little bird is. With the weather being so cold, I’m pretty much looking at these birds from the inside out, but can easily run out with the camera if need be. This weekend will be warming up to the mid 50’s so let’s see what comes into our yard next weekend. Maybe I’ll see another late bird migrating. Keeping my fingers crossed.

6 Comments

  1. Neita said,

    November 13, 2012 at 8:57 am

    That is a very pretty bird! Right now my feeder is crowded with sparrows of all shades of brown – a blue & yellow bird like this would be delightful!

  2. jkgphotos said,

    November 13, 2012 at 9:03 am

    Thank you! You can imagine my surprise when this bird showed up so LATE in the season. A very special treat for me.

  3. June Jenkins said,

    November 13, 2012 at 10:49 am

    Having a bird like this one visit my yard feeders would force me to chat about it for weeks! You are very lucky… Thanks for sharing.

    • jkgphotos said,

      November 13, 2012 at 10:57 am

      Trust me June, I’ve been telling EVERYONE and trying to let them know how unusual this is for this bird to be here this time of year.

  4. November 18, 2012 at 7:55 pm

    how pretty! maybe we’ll have a warmer winter than usual…

  5. December 4, 2012 at 11:45 am

    Parulas are quite handsome 🙂


Leave a Reply

