“Purple” Finch

New Sparrow 047

I needed a little help from the Wisconsin Birding Group to help me identify this bird. Here I thought I saw a new sparrow species and as hard as I looked under all the sparrow photos I just couldn’t come up with his identity. The minute I posted this picture to the Wisconsin Birding Group, it was immediate that I had a Purple Finch, probably a lst year male at that, since there was a little “rose” coloring around the head. I’m always thrilled when I see a new bird species and this was no exception. Happy Spring birding everyone!!

1 Comment

  1. April 25, 2013 at 1:55 pm

    Very nice- that was a hard one!


Leave a Reply

