Hello Handsome!

male Scarlet Tanager

male Scarlet Tanager

Last year I only got a glimpse of this colorful Scarlet Tanager and I was so disappointed he wasn’t seen again all summer long. This year, however, he and his mate have been in our yard in and around the pond and birdbath for 3 days. I hope they like it enough to stick around for the season. I can’t explain this birds coloring, but it is SO brilliant and not exactly red, but red orange….whatever the color, it’s beautiful! I hope some of you are able to see this bird in person. Happy birding everyone!

4 Comments

  1. Jean Wornson said,

    May 17, 2013 at 3:10 pm

    He is absolutely beautiful, is his mate as pretty?

    Sent from my iPad

    • jkgphotos said,

      May 17, 2013 at 3:24 pm

      I think she looks good, but definitely not colorful. I’ll post a picture of her tomorrow, then you decide.

  2. May 27, 2013 at 7:29 pm

    Great capture, and a beautiful bird!


Leave a Reply

