Mrs. Scarlet Tanager

Female Scarlet Tanager

Female Scarlet Tanager

So, what is your opinion, is this female Scarlet Tanager pretty like her mate? The lst time I saw her, I had no idea what bird I was looking at since she is the total opposite in color of her counterpart.  I was able to observe her getting a large insect and then eating it. It took her awhile, but it sure was interesting to watch. In my opinion she is a pretty bird and I only wish I could have captured both of them at the birdbath. Enjoy your day and happy birding!

4 Comments

  1. Bill said,

    May 20, 2013 at 7:30 am

    Yes, she is very pretty. Perhaps the two don’t bath together .

    • jkgphotos said,

      May 20, 2013 at 8:01 am

      Well, I’ve seen them at the birdbath at the same time, but when I bring the camera up…..one of them flies away, dang it!

  2. May 27, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    WOW, what a complete difference in a still bright color. Thanks for sharing and I’m glad you’ve had the opportunity to have and photograph them!


Leave a Reply

