Hello Red-eyed Vireo..

Red-eyed Vireo

Red-eyed Vireo

Here is another favorite visitor I look forward to gracing my yard during migration. They must feel more comfortable here now as they come down quite freqently to our birdbath behind the pond. When I first saw this bird, a few years ago in our yard, it was when I captured a photo of it drinking in the birdbath with many Cedar Waxwings. When I went to look at the photos I downloaded I had no idea what species this bird was. One of my “go to” people at Madison Audubon Society told me what it was. You’d think I’d just seen an extinct creature….I thought it was quite the find. I’m thrilled now I know what to look out for and enjoy this bird quite regularly now, and hope you enjoy him too. Happy birding everyone!

4 Comments

  1. June 3, 2013 at 7:43 pm

    An adorable capture, Joleen! A cutie, so nice to have them visit and see them again & again since you’re first sighting!

    • jkgphotos said,

      June 3, 2013 at 8:19 pm

      Thanks Donna! I have to tell you I must have had a computer problem as I wasn’t receiving updates on your blog. I’m happy to say, I signed up for it again. I’ve missed seeing all your wonderful wildlife photos and especially following your Osprey’s.

  2. June 6, 2013 at 5:40 am

    What a great visitor to have- I almost always see these birds high up in the trees!

  3. jkgphotos said,

    June 6, 2013 at 6:23 am

    Thanks Tracy, I hear them constantly and always patiently wait for them to come down to the birdbath. They really don’t like to expose themselves too much, but they feel protected in that viburnum right next to the birdbath and right behind the pond. They visit quite often 🙂


Leave a Reply

