Gray Catbird

Gray Catbird

Gray Catbird

I like this bird! It’s always interesting to hear his call, somewhat nasaly interspersed with catlike “mew” notes. Some individuals can also be pretty good mimics. I do know they like jelly along with our orioles, that’s a good bet in our yard as I have to fill the jelly dish every other day. The above photo shows the plain dark gray bird with the black “cap” and his long black tailed often cocked showing his chestnut undertail. Hopefully, you’ll be able to see this bird. Keep your ears tuned to a “mewing” sound and even if you don’t see him, that could be your catbird hiding in the underbrush. Happy birding everyone!

3 Comments

  1. Mona said,

    June 7, 2013 at 9:27 am

    So beautiful………

  2. July 6, 2013 at 2:42 pm

    One of my favorite birds- they have lots of personality. I didn’t realize that they liked jelly like Orioles!

  3. jkgphotos said,

    July 6, 2013 at 2:49 pm

    Tracy, they LOVE the jelly dish. I even had a finch eating out of it this year. I’m with you, I think the catbirds are real characters!


Leave a Reply

