Sapsucker Loving the Sap!

Yellow-bellied SapsuckerI have a maple tree right outside my kitchen window and the Yellow-bellied Sapsuckers have found it! They have been here daily, drilling holes in the trunk and then lapping up the sap. These birds are really fun to watch and quite oblivious to my photo taking. They arrived in my yard last week and I so welcome them. Maybe they will help attract the insects to the sweet sap and in turn my warblers will have fun feeding on these insects. I continue to wait on that lst warbler sighting for the year and hopefully it won’t be too much longer. Happy Birding Everyone!!

10 Comments

  1. April 9, 2014 at 8:21 am

    Nice shot… it’s so hard to get a sharp shot of these guys, right?

    • jkgphotos said,

      April 9, 2014 at 8:32 am

      Thank you so much. It’s true, it is hard sometimes to get nice captures of these guys, but the bigger challenge is when the warblers come through. They don’t sit still for a moment. Thanks for visiting and come back often.

  2. April 9, 2014 at 9:14 am

    Great eye capture, Joleen. He’s a beauty!

  3. April 14, 2014 at 2:22 am

    I love this, what a beautiful bird and photo.

    • jkgphotos said,

      April 14, 2014 at 7:28 am

      Thanks so much! These Sapsuckers are still coming to the tree daily and I love watching them.

      • April 14, 2014 at 1:47 pm

        I would not get any work done if they lived near me lol.

      • jkgphotos said,

        April 14, 2014 at 1:49 pm

        Funny you should say that…when the warblers show up, I rarely get anything done, as I sit and watch the birds all day long.

  4. April 19, 2014 at 3:45 pm

    wonderful capture… he ‘s got his eye on you 🙂


Leave a Reply

