Great Crested Flycatcher

Great Crested Flycatcher

I think this is a really cool bird! Another bird that loves his insects, the Great Crested Flycatcher.  While I was outside yesterday keeping my eyes up and straight ahead, something made me turn and look behind me and I spotted this flycatcher up a tree and I thankfully got a nice capture of him.  These birds are great to watch hunting for their meals. The warbler watch continues for me, but I am getting really tired of the cold and cloudy weather. One of these days it’s bound to warm up and then I’ll be complaining again that it’s too hot. Oh well, Happy Birding Everyone!

5 Comments

  1. May 15, 2014 at 10:10 am

    You sure did get a GREAT capture. I had these nesting at my house and they usually like to stay up high. They are fun birds to watch. Wonderful background to BTW!

  2. Bill Lambert said,

    May 15, 2014 at 6:47 pm

    Get a warm sleeping bag and a good bottle of wine and stay outside. We enjoy your pictures to much to have you wimping out by going inside. Suffer for your viewers. We have become addicted to your website. Summer will come.

    • jkgphotos said,

      May 15, 2014 at 6:51 pm

      Well, I hadn’t thought about that Bill, the bottle of wine sounds very appealing, but not sure how well the photos would come out. I truly am happy though that you all like the photos I post. The warbler season will be coming to an end soon enough, so I’ll have to get tough and head back outside ☺️!

  3. May 17, 2014 at 5:05 pm

    I really like these large flycatchers!

    I too am getting tired of the cloudy/rainy weather- it seems like Ohio is just one big raincloud this May. It’s hard to get good pictures without some sun!


Leave a Reply

